Frenetic Creativity

“Don’t make something unless it is both necessary and useful; but if it is both necessary and useful, don’t hesitate to make it beautiful.” ~Shaker Design Philosophy

Frenetic: Fast and Energetic in a rather wild and uncontrolled way. I’d say that about describes these two Gradient members. They are our designers and our critics; ecstatic when they approve of a job well done, and adamant in their opinions when they feel otherwise. But believe me when I say they are two of the most interesting and creative people you could work with.

Josh Luna: Illustrator/Graphic Designer/Photographer

1. What is your job title, in your own words?

I make stuff look good. I make Alisha look good! *laughs*

2. What’s been your favorite Epicsode so far?

“The Making of our first Epicsode” just because I love watching all of us putting that together, how we were all discombobulated and make it up as we go but still get stuff done and make it look cool.

3. How does the creative process start for you?

I just start looking for inspiration in different things like other photography, design, architecture, anything. Then I jot some ideas down, walk away from it, do it again. It’s kind of a long process. It’s a lot of throwing away bad ideas, but then morphing them into good ones, delving deeper and discovering how to make it work.

4. On average how long do you spend holding your head in utter frustration?

A long time. Depends on the project though, some come easier than others. I think when you’ve been holding it longer than an hour, its time to take a walk.

5. Favorite food?

I love Mexican food. I can eat it all day.

6. What was your favorite cartoon growing up?

I loved Scooby Doo, Where Are You?

7. What do you do when a design just isn’t working? Start over? Or push forward?

I don’t know, start over I guess. It’s very annoying when that happens.

8. What country has your favorite type of architecture or design?

I love Japans interior design. There’s something they do where it’s really futuristic but at the same time traditional, with the sliding doors and whatnot.

9. What’s one of your favorite memories within Gradient?

When we all got Iphones. Greatest day of my life!

10. Is there an artist that specifically inspires you?

Shaun Tan, and his book Tales From Outer Suburbia, the design of the book, the illustrations, the writing. It’s incredible. And I love The Lost Thing movie.

Alisha Noles: Art Director/Production Design

1. What is your job title, in your own words?
I have two: I’m responsible for keeping the image of “Gradient” consistent so that it’s recognizable and when it comes to our projects, it would be creating and maintaining an image that people are able to identify.

2. What’s been your favorite Epicsode so far?

I really like “Chapter 2011” because we knew what we wanted to do it and quickly set up lighting with what was available, sat down, and did it. It was just this spontaneous thing that was successful and often those are the best ones.

3. How does the creative process start for you?

I usually have to look at a lot of different sources and get my creativeness flowing, but once I start, it definitely begins with my sketchbook. That’s where I bring it to life.

4. On average how long do you spend holding your head in utter frustration?

That’s a really hard question, David! I don’t know. I spend like 70% of my time just realizing what’s terrible, then 20% seeing the mediocre, and the last 10% seeing what’s really good, which makes up for it.

5. Favorite food?

It was shrimp for a long time. My favorite time is dinner, and it would be something seafood, with brown rice.

6. What was your favorite cartoon growing up?

I didn’t actually watch cartoon’s, you know what I did get up in the morning to watch? The Shopping Network. *laughs*

7. What do you do when a design just isn’t working? Start over? Or push forward?

That depends on the project. Something I’ve been working on is if I have an idea that I’m really attached to but isn’t working, I have to eliminate a lot of the original elements that make it up rather than start over. I re-vamp it, and try to completely change my mindset.

8. What country has your favorite type of architecture or design?

Can you ask me that question next term after I’ve taken “History of Architecture”? I’m going to say Germany though, because that’s where traditional modernism started and that is a big part of what I love.

9. What’s one of your favorite memories within Gradient?

I really enjoyed the Judo Jon Auction because I think, first off, that event was a big push with all of us working together and getting organized. It was the first event where we were Gradient, and it was a big success.

10. Is there an artist that specifically inspires you?

Mies Van Der Rohe, he was an architect who blended interior design with architecture and really was ahead of his time.

About Gradient Productions

Gradient Productions is a multi-media marketing company that specializes in digital video production, online social branding, music production and graphic design. View all posts by Gradient Productions

Leave a Reply

