Mr. Soul & Mr. Write

“But when you get music and words together, that can be a very powerful thing.” ~Bryan Ferry

The vote was 5 to 1 within Gradient; the majority being opposed to the idea of allowing David to interview himself for this weeks blog. Instead our President, Rebecca Noles, wrote and interviewed the final two members. They encompass interesting and important aspects of team Gradient; music, editing, writing, acting, joke-playing. It’s become a known fact not to sit these two next to each other during meetings if anything productive is to get done.

David J. Rodriguez: Writer/Actor/Social Communications/Networking

1) In your own words, what is your job title at Gradient?

I take everything that you (Rebecca), Ethan, and everyone else in Gradient wants put into words and make it comprehensible. I’m also the comic relief.

2) When you were five, what did you want to be when you grew up?

Oh man, I wanted to be a veterinarian for the longest time. Mostly I just wanted to work with dangerous, exotic animals. Then I found out how bad at math I was…still got to work with animals at the Oregon Zoo for a while though. *laughs*

3) What’s your favorite Gradient moment?

Other than realizing we have an office? It would have to be either Nathanael, you, and I staying up until 3 in the morning writing “By My Side” lyrics and coming up with ridiculous, hilarious titles, or the entire process and shoot of Physical Education.

4) What’s your favorite video Gradient has done?

Our first Epicsode was one of the best to me because it took, oh…65 takes to get it perfect! The Making of Our First Epicsode is still one of my favorites because it gives a glimpse of how fun a night that was.

5) What’s your favorite Pixar movie?

That’s like asking me what my favorite seafood is. I can’t decide. If I had to choose, I would say clams, meaning Up.

6) How would you describe your work flow?

If you’re referring to writing, then usually I just let it flow out of my hands when I’m typing. I read what I have down, delete most of it, re-word it, and then hear how it sounds in my head. If you’re talking about acting, I just watch a bunch of Leonardo Dicaprio movies and I’m good to go!

7) Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In Greece, either: A) Doing some sort of international work for Gradient, B) Hosting a show for Travel Channel, C) Eating, or D) all of the above…I’m gonna go with D.

8) Where do you see Gradient in 5 years?

I’m realistic, I know things take time. But I think we’ve really got a great team and I see us at Sundance or another fest with a strong entry and shot at taking home some wins.

9) If you had to trade jobs with someone in Gradient, who would it be?

Ethan Borden. Because I would do epic spin shots, intense zooms, and include cats in our projects…especially the flat faced ones…because they’re ridiculous.

10) What’s your favorite film genre?

I can’t really say one genre over another, but I will say I have consistently loved movies from Wes Anderson and Quentin Tarantino. Two of my all time favorite movies are from them: The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou & Kill Bill: Volume 2

Nathanael Sams: Production/Editing/Sound Design/Composing/Mixing

1) In your own words, what is your job title at Gradient?
I am the person responsible for making…well…hmmm. I have three jobs. *laughs* I don’t know! I’m an editor, composer, sound designer. I pretty much make everyone happy in the group. They tell me what to do and I just do it. *laughs*

2) When you were five, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to work at a movie theatre because I thought it would be the greatest thing ever to see a movie whenever you wanted. I have accomplished that goal, and I saw some 8 times.

3) What’s your favorite Gradient moment?

Probably when we were in the recording studio and when we were about to release “By My Side”. There was a moment when I realized I was producing a song and making most of the decisions. I guess it made me realize that Gradient is real, and we were doing something great for our community. And our meetings of course, because they are awesome. *laughs*

4) What’s your favorite video Gradient has done?

We have a lot, it’s hard to think of one. Mainly because I have edited all of them. I like them all! There are some where we used really cool techniques, like for music I would say the Andre Wang video and the Silk video. For editing my favorite would be…*laughs*…I don’t know. They all merge together.

5) What’s your favorite Pixar movie?

Up. Obviously because the music is phenomenal. I could watch the first 15 minutes over and over again. I have also grown to love Wall-E.

6) How would you describe your work flow?

My work flow makes sense to me, nobody else gets it.

7) Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Still working for Gradient, and not working for Borders.

8) Where do you see Gradient in 5 years?

I think Gradient will make an impact in the film world by showing that a little company from Corbett, Oregon is getting major business and producing incredible things. I also look forward to having a new office and studio space.

9) If you had to trade jobs with someone in Gradient, who would it be?

Is this a real question? I already have three jobs so I think I’m good. But if I really wanted to challenge myself, I would trade with Alisha. She does all the art stuff, and I’m not good at that…so it would be hard.

10) What’s your favorite film genre?

Romantic Comedy, because it leaves you walking away happy. It’s also entertaining to watch. Like You’ve Got Mail or Sleepless in Seattle…mostly Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan movies.

*David acts like he’s throwing up in the background*

About Gradient Productions

Gradient Productions is a multi-media marketing company that specializes in digital video production, online social branding, music production and graphic design. View all posts by Gradient Productions

Leave a comment