He Who is Carl

“Inanimate objects can be classified scientifically into three major categories; those that don’t work, those that break down, and those that get lost.”
~Russell Baker

You may have noticed another among us.

He sneaks into our meetings, gets the inside story, hears things not intended to be heard. While we wouldn’t say that there is a 7th member of Gradient (at this point in time), we do have something of a mascot in Carl Jenkins.

Turns out, he’s more than a drawing dummy. I decided that I should probably sit down with Carl and hear his story, before some elaborate work of fiction were to reach the 188 friends he has on Facebook.

David (D): What motto do you try to live by, Carl?

Carl (C): “Love your neighbor as yourself”…Oh and, “Beware of Dog”. I learned that firsthand.

(D): What’s the story between you and Gradient?

(C): I was referred by the brother of Gradient’s big boss lady, Rebecca Noles. Basically I would get to travel and get paid to do what I do best: Pose.

(D): And so far it’s worked out better than your last job?

(C): I was employed by Borders as a bookend. I’d say it’s going better for me now.

(D): Where would you most like to travel?

(C): If I got to ride in a car or plane without being stuffed inside a backpack I would be tickled pink! The ideal destination would be Copenhagen, Denmark where Soren Kierkegaard spent a good portion of his life.

(D): Do you have a guilty pleasure Food?/Movie?

(C): I love muffins. For movies, it’s a tie between The Nutcracker and The Toy That Saved Christmas. I get all kinds of emotional every time I watch that one.

(D): You seem to be in great shape, what’s your secret?

(C): I train in several combat disciplines including Muay Thai, Jujitsu, and Jazzercise! In fact, I once fought off a huge Nemean lion that was attacking Gradient!

(D): Is that real, or is that a legend?

(C): Oh it’s a real legend! I’m surprised you didn’t hear about it.

(D): Okay, moving on. What are some of your goals?

(C): I want to become the first inanimate object to win the Nobel Peace Prize for my work with Pandas. But most of all, I want to find the wrong way to eat a Reese’s.

(D): Well thanks for your time Carl, this has been truly an insightful interview. And, readers, I hope you feel a little closer to our friend Carl Jenkins, and if you’d like, add him as a friend here

Be sure to follow Gradient Productions on Facebook for more adventures from our favorite wooden friend!

Happy Monday.

About Gradient Productions

Gradient Productions is a multi-media marketing company that specializes in digital video production, online social branding, music production and graphic design. View all posts by Gradient Productions

Leave a Reply

