Free Time

“There’s never enough time to do all the nothing you want.”
~Bill Watterson, Calvin and Hobbes

Here’s a fun fact: In 1887, Oregon was the first state to make Labor Day a holiday.

As you take the time to read this on what hopefully ends up being a relaxing day off, remember that we, and especially I, appreciate your support by reading this blog. It never ceases to brighten my day when someone comments on a previous entry or mentions it in person. So again, thank you.

I’m not here to talk about Labor Day, rather more on the concept of free time. You see, we don’t get a lot of it. Really there are periods of time which being busier than others, such as July, we have extremely limited free time. More often, our days off simply mean working on something alone.

But we’re still human, and often the best medicine to stress is doing what we find relaxing.

For Ethan, his inner peace comes from being active; be it going to the gym, hiking, camping, playing tennis or bike riding. Simply hanging with friends helps too, which ironically are often the friends who he works with.

Because it is relaxing and stimulating at the same time, reading is what helps Alisha. She also loves travel, not necessarily to some extravagant place, but with good company and the willingness to go with the flow. Free time is also the means to work on projects that have been in the back of her mind; anything from painting a room, doing yard work, or organizing that neglected junk drawer.

I’m not sure Rebecca knows how to relax. Whenever I ask her what she likes to do in her free time, the answer is the same: “What free time?”
But I know that she equally enjoys reading about film theory as business law. Sometimes I really don’t understand her. In a bookstore, I go straight to travel/mythology/history and she goes to business? Seriously that has to be the most boring section! But somehow she enjoys it, which in the end is very much a good thing.

I am somewhat random in what I do with my free time. It’s all depending on my mood, what the day looks like, and a whole list of nit-picky environment factors. It goes so far as to what I choose to wear. I love reading, but I also love video games. I love to just go into town and travel around, but there are a few restaurants and coffee shops that I am perfectly happy going to time and again. I start paintings, then only finish them months later. I tend to just go with the flow each day.

Nathanael somehow manages to watch upwards of 3 movies a day, and still manages to get work done on time. On his days off, I swear he pushes 5 movies. But he’s also an avid music composer, and I always enjoy hearing new music he’s just composed.

Josh likes to watch movies and hang out with friends. Simple. Effective. Timeless.

About Gradient Productions

Gradient Productions is a multi-media marketing company that specializes in digital video production, online social branding, music production and graphic design. View all posts by Gradient Productions

Leave a Reply

